Shadow and Light

Posted on Updated on

A friend wrote me this morning:
“Have you ever had any experience with negative entities?  Even something that could be considered the devil?  I’ve been dealing with negative entities a lot lately (they’ve been following me home, basically) and I’ve just been trying to focus on cultivating love within myself to repel them.  We’ve never talked about it and I was just wondering if you’ve ever experienced them.  And if so, if you know any ways to repel or disempower them…it can get a little scary sometimes.”
The thoughts I shared in reply:
“In terms of negative entities, the best understanding I’ve come across is from the Buddhist traditions, where they often have icons of the Buddha surrounded by “wrathful dieties” that challenge the seeker to confront their own shadow side before gaining access to higher consciousness, which is represented by the figure of the Buddha.
Just as in dreams, where all the beings we encounter are actually facets of ourselves, any negative entities can be acknowledged as part of ourselves.
Am remembering Walt Whitman‘s line, “I am large! I contain multitudes!”
Am also recalling the teaching from A Course in Miracles that in every moment we have the same choice in various guises: we can choose Fear, or we can choose Love.
My struggle has been with my own shadow side. If I begin to develop any pride in being “spiritual” I quickly get reminded of my own pettiness, judgements, selfishness, resentments, etc., etc…reminded I have feet of clay and always will. Any spiritual insight I may have are not “mine” but fleeting flashes of grace.
There’s a wonderful Rumi poem that helps me grapple with all this.
3 thoughts on “Shadow and Light

    3rdiopen said:
    March 7, 2013 at 9:03 am

    My biggest demons have been within, Ego, addictions, self loathing…the list goes on.
    When I first began a spiritual journey an epic internal battle ensued for months, I was afraid to surrender to what I knew to be pure and divine.
    Surrender.

    david Hoe said:
    March 7, 2013 at 9:15 am

    This is one of the most beautiful powerful and helpful entries you have made. It touched me deeply, well no, you did.

    Love and blessings David

    K10 said:
    March 7, 2013 at 10:05 am

    I was speaking with an energetic healer the other day at an audition, and she told me.
    to be very clear with them.
    ” any entities that are around me that aren’t serving my highest good”
    “YOUR CONTRACT ENDS NOW”
    Be stern.
    they have to leave….
    Smudging your apt with some sage or sacred tobbacco would be good too..

Leave a Reply

